Lumbersexual ancestors update

Beard experiment

Five weeks untouched

It’s been about five weeks since I officially declared a ban on shaving, and I have to say that I’m pretty happy with the results. I haven’t shaved or trimmed at all since then. I hadn’t really trimmed it for three or four weeks before that, except for a slight trimming before going to the New York State Family History Conference. I was on the fence about it then, but the barber said she liked it as it was, and just did a light trim on it.

So it’s really been about two months of practically no trimming or grooming, and it’s filling out nicely. I’m not quite sure which ancestor wins yet, though. I think it’s really a combination, which makes sense since we’re all really a combination of our ancestors. I think I can say that I’m not going to get one of those ZZ Top beards, though. It just doesn’t seem to be growing in a way that would hang nicely. It’s more of a “wrap-around” sort of beard. If it were white, it would probably make a fairly decent Santa Claus beard after a while.

But next week I need to go into the office, so yesterday I went to the barber for a trim. I was trying to decide if this experiment was coming to an end, or if it was just time to start shaping and grooming. Fortunately, again, a good barber told me that he liked my beard, and gave some good advice on how he could groom it without losing it. So the experiment is still on! I’ll post another update in about a month.

After first grooming

After first grooming

One response to “Lumbersexual ancestors update

  1. That IS an impressive beard!

    Like

Leave a comment