New Free State Dutch Reformed Church records available on FamilySearch

A ton of new records on FamilySearch is helping to build the van Pletzen family tree!

The van Pletzen Saga

On September 8, FamilySearch added a load of new digital images to its “South Africa, Free State Dutch Reformed Church Records, 1848-1956” collection. Many are older christening records from the mid-19th to early-20th century. I have spent much of my free time since Friday afternoon trolling though these records looking for van Pletzens.

Since my family line was most recently in Zastron, I started there in hopes of finding my grandfather-in-law’s (a.k.a. “Grandpa Van) christening. I found Carel Jacobus le Roux (b. 4 Feb 1899), Susanna Maria Johanna le Roux (b. 12 Dec 1903), Nicolaas Everhardus Sauer van der Merwe (b. 12 Feb 1894), and Carel Goodchild (b. 20 Sep 1905). I also found Carel Nicolaas Sauer van Pletzen (b. 19 Feb 1905), known in my family as “Uncle Charlie”, Grandpa Van’s younger brother.

After looking though all of Zastron’s christening records, I moved on to Rouxville. I knew there…

View original post 320 more words

Leave a Reply

