Gone to Texas: FGS2014

A few months ago I was at a conference for my job. A lot of the workshops I attended were about social media and blogging, and as I was listening I had a hard time thinking about how to apply it to my job. I kept thinking about how it could apply to my genealogy work, which up until now has really just been a hobby.

That’s when I decided that I really needed to start looking into attending a genealogy conference, and learn more about taking my full-time hobby to the next level. So, here I am at the 2014 Federation of Genealogical Societies Conference in San Antonio, Texas.

Like my “inspiration conference” in April, I’ll be attending workshops to learn more about blogging, publishing online, and social media, but specifically about genealogy. I’m also attending some workshops related to research in different parts of the world, using DNA in genealogical research, and how to use different apps to make research more efficient. Most importantly, I’m registered for a special workshop given by the Board for Certification of Genealogists about the benefits of becoming a certified genealogist. I’m also hoping to network a bit, and learn from some of the professionals just what it takes to make it in the world of professional genealogists.

So, I’m really excited to be here, and am looking forward to a load of useful information over the next three days.

Leave a Reply

