It begins!

Welp, Friday was my last day working at the big hospital on the hill, and Monday is the first day of our last days in Zion. Bright and early tomorrow morning (which is actually not long away being that it’s 11pm Sunday night), we start going through our stuff and deciding what we’ll take with us to the City. Up until now I’ve been looking forward to this moment. Now, I’m not so sure.

This weekend we discovered another seminarian’s blog, and after reading her experiences I have to admit that I’m a little more anxious about the whole process. Don’t get me wrong–I’m excited about beginning this new chapter in our lives (more so, I think, than my prospective priest), but now it’s becoming reality. It’s always been this fantasy that one day would become reality. Now….it’s here.

So, tomorrow we start with the kitchen. I must admit, I’m looking forward to getting rid of the clutter. We have a lot less cupboard space in our current apartment than we did in our recently-sold condo, and I’ve never really gotten used to it. The cupboards are pretty packed, and not well-organized. I’m ready to get rid of some of the excess, and start living with the bare minimum.

Over the next six weeks, we’ll be going through EVERYTHING–organizing, downsizing and packing. We’ll get everything packed and ready to move, then it’s off to visit family in South Africa for two months. When we get back, we’ll have about a week to get everything moved across the country and start our new life–at least for the next three years.

The one thing that I wish we had is our apartment assignment at seminary. That would make some of the down-sizing a bit easier–knowing just how much space we’re going to have, and what we should plan on bringing with us. Even the largest apartment there will be smaller than our apartment here. Until we know, though, we’re going to assume the “worst”, and only keep what we can’t live without. Actually, if we stuck to that, we’d only be taking a few boxes.

One response to “It begins!

  1. Hi!

    I’m glad you found my blog!

    Sorry if any of it worries you – it will all be fine. Moving was a bit of a challenge (as you’ve probably noticed from my posts) but it all worked out in the end and we LOVE it here.

    I try to keep my blog relatively anonymous (I’d rather not have the whole seminary read it!) but please leave a comment on my blog if you have any questions, issues, etc. and I will try to help.

    One other blog you might want to read –

    http://julienelson.blog.com/

    She’s another student here and a good friend.

    Good luck with everything!

    Like

Leave a Reply

