My Healthy Obsession/Addiction to Family History

I’ve been thinking and talking about and saying for a long time that I wanted to start a blog that included a page with my family history. Finally, at long last, I’m actually starting it.

This is my first attempt at blogging, and I honestly don’t know where this is going to go. Right now, I’m obsessed with genealogical research, and have been known to spend hours on end with my laptop, gathering information from other websites and adding it to my own family history. I’m sure that a lot of this blog will be devoted to that, and I hope that others will find the historical data that I have found useful in their own research.

However, while genealogy is a big part of my life, it isn’t my entire life. I’m sure I’ll be sharing my thoughts about other aspects of my life as well. For example, my partner, Blane, and I are getting ready for a move to New York City where he will be starting seminary this fall. Before that we will be taking a trip to South Africa to visit his family. Visit his blog for more about his interesting story.

In the past few weeks, I’ve found some really great web sites with a huge amount of historical information on my ancestors, and my browser’s bookmarks folder is getting a bit disorganized. That was part of what finally pushed me to start this blog. I figure that even if no one else finds this site useful, I can use it to organize my links and make my life a little easier.

And for those who haven’t been bitten by the genealogy bug yet, I hope you find some of the stories of my research interesting. Maybe their inspire you to give it a shot with your own family as well.

Leave a Reply

